- Articles and Databases
- Sources for Plays
- Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Web and Image Sites
- Historical Repertory
Articles and Databases
Indexes to journals
- America: History & Life
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
- MLA International Bibliography
- ProQuest Research Library
- World Shakespeare Bibliography
Full-text journals, newspapers, and other resources
Sources for Plays
Full-text resourses
- American Drama 1714-1915
- Black Drama--1850 to Present
- English Drama (1280-1915)
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
- Twentieth-Century Drama
Indexes to plays
- Play Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Co., 1949-. Z5781.P53 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
- Index to Plays in Periodicals. Rev. and expanded ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1979. [Supplements, 1977-87.] Z5781.K43 1979 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Between 1900 and 1985. Eds. Billie M. Connor and Helene G. Mochedlover. 7th ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1988. Z5781.O8 1988 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
- Inter-play
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
Reference compilations
- The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama. New York: Columbia UP, 2007. PN1861.C651 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- International Dictionary of Theatre. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992. PN2035.I49 1992 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
- The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. New York: Oxford UP, 1992. PN2035.C63 1992 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford UP, 2004.
PN2220.B6 2004 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2003. PN2035.O92 2003 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
- The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. London and New York: Routledge, 1994-2000. PN2035.W67 1994 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Theatre Backstage from A to Z. 4th ed. Seattle: U of Washington P, 1999. PN2091.M3L68 1999 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2003. PN2091.E4B66 2003 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
Musical Theatre
- American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion. 2nd ed. New York: Schirmer Books; London: Prentice Hall International, 1996-2001. ML128.M78B6 1996 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Hollywood Song: The Complete Film & Musical Companion. New York: Facts on File, 1995. ML128.M7B6 1995 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. 2nd ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 2001.
ML102.M88G3 2001 / Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference - Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers. 3rd ed. New York and Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000. ML128.M78S86 2000 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
Biographical Resources
- American National Biography
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors
- Contemporary Dramatists. 6th ed. New York: St. James, 1999. PR737.V5 1999 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television. Detroit: Gale Research, 1984-. PN1583.C65 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Abstracts & Indexes
- Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. PN2285.N65 1989 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Variety Obituaries, 1905-. New York: Garland, 1988-. PN1583.V35 1988 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976: A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Directors, Playwrights, and Producers of the English-Speaking Theatre. Detroit: Gale Research, 1978. PN2597.W52 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Who's Who in the Theatre. 17th ed. London: Pitman; Detroit: Gale Research, 1981. PN2012.W5 17th 1981 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
Web and Image Sites
Historical Repertory
- Theatre World. New York: Applause, 1944-. PN2277.N5A17 / Pattee - Stacks 2A
- The Best Plays. New York: Limelight Editions, 1894-. PN6112.B4501; earlier eds. PN2266.A2 / Pattee - Stacks 2A
- American Musical Theatre: A Chronicle. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford UP, 2001. ML1711.B67 2001 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001. PN2277.N5H57 2001 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1930-1969. New York: Oxford UP, 1996. [preceded by vols. for 1914-1930 and for 1869-1914] PN2266.B64 1996 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. PN2237.A43 1986 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- American Theatre Companies, 1888-1930. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987. PN2256.A44 1987 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- American Theatre Companies, 1931-1986. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. PN2266.A54 1989 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- Annals of the New York Stage. New York: Columbia University Press, 1970. PN2277.N5O4 / Pattee, Stacks 2A
- The Encyclopedia of the New York Stage, 1920-1930. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985. [With successive volumes by decade.] PN2277.N5L36 1985 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- The London Stage, 1660-1800: A Calendar of Plays, Entertainments & Afterpieces. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 1960. [Biographical Dictionary, PN2597.H5; Index, PN2592.L63S3; A New Version of Part 2, 1700-1729] PN2592.L6 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
- The London Stage, 1890-1899: A Calendar of Plays and Players. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976. [With successive vols. by decade.] PN2596.L6W37 / Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference
Search
Contact
William Brockman
Arts & Humanities Library
W329 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-9718
Fax: 814-863-7502
or Your Campus Librarian
